Scottsdale DUI Attorney
Experienced DUI Defense in Arizona
On Arizona roads and highways, people driving under the influence of substances
such as alcohol and
drugs cause countless accidents every year. This has resulted in increasingly
harsher penalties and sentencing for drivers who are charged with DUI.
If you have been arrested on the suspicion of DUI, it is important to
remember that you have the right to a proper defense. Work with a Scottsdale
DUI attorney at the Law Offices of Stephen L. Duncan, P.L.C. to benefit
from our over 20 years of legal experience.
As a former prosecutor, Scottsdale DUI
Lawyer Duncan has an insider's view into how the state tries DUI offenses. Our detail-oriented
team will comb every aspect of your case to look for unlawful or inaccurate
conduct on the part of law enforcement to help you build a solid defense
strategy. From negotiating a reduced sentence to taking your case to court,
we will not stop until we reach the best resolution possible. Our goal
is to keep you out of jail and minimize your penalties.
Accused of DUI? Call our DUI lawyer in Scottsdale today at (602) 832-7404 to get a
complimentary case evaluation.
What are the penalties for DUI in Arizona?
Under the law, if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least
0.08, you can be charged with DUI. Drivers of commercial vehicles can
face a DUI charge for a BAC of more than 0.04. Additionally, drivers under
the age of 21 may be charged with underage DUI if there is any alcohol
in their system at the time of their stop. Anyone with a BAC of 0.15 or
greater will be charged with extreme DUI.
In Arizona, penalties for DUI offenses are as follows:
First DUI offense: Up to 10 days in jail, minimum $1,250 fine. Treatment program participation
and required ignition interlock device.
Second DUI charge: Up to 90 days jail, minimum $3,000 fine. 12-month license revocation.
Mandatory treatment program. Interlock device.
Extreme DUI first offense (BAC 0.15 or higher)
: Minimum 30 days in jail at least $2,500 fine. Mandatory treatment program.
Installing interlock device in a vehicle.
Extreme DUI second offense (BAC 0.15 or higher)
: Minimum 120 days in jail, minimum fine of $3,250. Revocation of license
for 12 months. Ignition interlock device installed.
Refusing a Breath or Blood Test
The state of Arizona upholds implied consent law. This means if you have
been issued a driver’s license that you have already consented to
blood or breath tests if you are arrested for driving under the influence.
If you refuse to take a breath or blood test in Arizona, you can face
License Revocation periods:
First Offense - 1 year
Second Offense or more – 2 years
Being convicted of driving under the influence, previously refusing to
take a breath or blood test, or failing a BAC test within the previous
seven years, all can count as a prior offense.
Begin with a Free Case Evaluation: Speak with Our Scottsdale DUI Lawyer
Please contact us today to request your complimentary consult. Find out
information about how our Scottsdale DUI lawyer can help you, and what
strategies we have in store for you.
Our Scottsdale DUI attorney is happy to provide potential clients with a
free case evaluation so they can learn their options before proceeding with our services.