Scottsdale Misdemeanor Defense Attorney
Courageous Defense, Powerful Advocacy for 20+ Years
Although misdemeanors are considered "lesser" offenses compared
to felonies, they can still leave a stain on your criminal record and
future. If you are being charged with a misdemeanor, you could be looking
at up to six months in jail and fines. With a misdemeanor on your record,
you will have to carry the burden of a criminal conviction everywhere
with you - when you apply for jobs, housing, professional licenses, and
more. Any type of criminal matter should be handled by a skilled defense
attorney who knows how to protect your best interests and future.
If you have been accused of a misdemeanor, turn to the experienced Scottsdale
criminal defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Stephen L. Duncan, P.L.C. No matter what
type of offense you are facing, we are ready to provide powerful defense.
Tell us about your situation in further detail during a
How Are Misdemeanors Classified in Arizona?
Misdemeanor offenses are categorized as either Class 1, Class 2, or Class
3 based on the type and seriousness of an offense. These classes carry
different types of penalties with varying amounts of jail time, fines,
and community service. In addition to these legal consequences, being
convicted of a misdemeanor crime can have a detrimental impact on a person’s
ability to find employment and suitable housing, as many employers tend
to choose applicants with clean histories over those with criminal records.
Here's how Arizona classifies misdemeanors:
Class 1: The most serious misdemeanors are classified as Class 1 offenses. Class
1 misdemeanors such as prostitution, disorderly conduct, shoplifting,
and driving on a suspended license can bring penalties up to six months
in jail and a maximum of $2,500.
Class 2: Class 2 misdemeanors are punishable by up to four months in jail and fines
up to $750. Misdemeanor offenses that have not been categorized through
legislation are charged as Class 2 misdemeanors, such as intentionally
spreading an infectious disease.
Class 3: The least serious type of misdemeanor is a Class 3 misdemeanor. These offenses
can bring up to $500 in fines and 30 days in jail. Criminal speeding and
trespassing in the third degree are considered Class 3 misdemeanor offenses.
Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer Dedicated to Protecting Your Future
When your future is on the line, the
Law Offices of Stephen L. Duncan, P.L.C. can fight for you.
Our Scottsdale criminal defense attorney leverages his unique insights and legal savvy gained through decades of
hands-on experience navigating the halls of the criminal justice system.
At our law firm, you have the opportunity to work with a former prosecutor
who brings a wealth of knowledge on how criminal offenses are investigated
and prosecuted. We can get started on protecting you today.